Last year, I cancelled my birthday plans and took myself on a weekend trip to Tokyo to meet my flight attendant friend who was in town. We stayed in Yokohama about an hours train away from Tokyo explored a little bit of Japan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
View from our Yokohama hotel
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Yokohama Royal Park Hotel
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
JR station

The first day I landed very early in the morning and hung around the airport for a couple of hours waiting for my friend’s flight. After a nap we made our way into Tokyo. We walked around the Tokyo Imperial Palace.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Breakfast at Tokyo Haneda Airport
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Tokyo Imperial Palace grounds
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
The whole area is beautiful and peaceful

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

By late afternoon, we were making our way to Tokyo Dome City. An entertainment complex that includes theme park style rides, cinemas, shopping and tons of attractions. The reason we went was to ride Thunder Dolphin which had been closed last time I was in Japan. We had to queue for just over an hour and by the time we got on it was dark. It’s a much better coaster than I’d heard. The setting in the middle of the city makes it much more exciting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
One of the art installations around Tokyo Dome City
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Me and Wes
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Sign for Thunder Dolphin
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
The coaster even goes through a building at one point
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
Also a hubless ferris wheel
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Seriously it’s really awesome and completely under-rated and made by Intamin
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Lit up at night in another area of Tokyo Dome City

I was most excited to EAT in Tokyo. Food in Japan always seems to be of a higher standard in general than anywhere else I’ve been. Last time I was here I had just over two weeks but this time I only had two nights to cram in my favourite dishes. The food on my list was: ramen, yakitori, sushi, curry, McDonald’s. Yeah, even McDonald’s in Japan is good. Don’t believe me, get on a plane and try it yourself. That night we went out for some drinks in Yokohama at a British pub called The Tavern. The theming was excellent and looked much more like an actual pub than anything I’d seen in Hong Kong. When the Japanese do something it is executed to a high standard so I’m not surprised. We also went to one of the photobooths I love so much! There’s different themes but they’re usually fairly similar in set up. They tell you how to pose and you can customise afterwards.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Photo booth where you can customise your pictures
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
You don’t have any choice in some things (the way they blow up your eyes) but you can choose from thousands of stickers to add and other extras

The next day we were back in Tokyo. this time we started by shopping in Shibuya. The home of the famous crossing and the statue of Hachikō the dog. It’s got lots of big stores including a huge Disney store, where I saw a goddamn collection of all the disney princess dolls which I wanted to buy so much. It was way cheaper than I expected, however I had no suitcase to take it back in. While we were in the area I convinced my friend to go to the yakitori place that we went to for the Theme Park Review welcome dinner on the trip back in 2013. And it was just as good as I remembered. I tried some sake too which was amazing. The best yakitori stick? For me, it’s chicken butt. You should definitely try it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Shibuya area
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Shopper’s paradise
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Shibuya
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Another British pub
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Yakitori set up
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Sake!!!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Picture from previous trip in 2013 from same restaurant

We then headed over to Akihabara and Harajuki. The electric district and the famous shopping area for youth culture and fashion. There’s so many cheap stores with crazy and cute stuff. Then there’s the 100 yen shops, which I would recommend even people who hate shopping to visit. They have everything. Absolutely everything. The most random stuff and also those things that are super useful but you can’t always find. Take an empty suitcase if you can, especially while the exchange is in visitors favour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Walking to Akihabara
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Tokyo turns to the evening
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Even the fire trucks are cute as hell
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Delicious!!!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Somewhere I ended up going this year 😀
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Random, cool shit everywhere
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Harajuku

We went back to Yokohama and I decided with my early flight I’d get the last bus from Yokohama to Haneda. Before that we made a quick stop for sushi and McDonald’s and I took a last walk around Yokohama. Ready for a long wait at the airport, I didn’t expect it be quite as long as it was! I arrived at about 1am for my 6:10am flight… However, the flight was delayed. And delayed. And delayed. And delayed again. I forget the exact time we left, but the last photo I took was saying a 11:30am departure time. The good thing was, they gave us a food voucher, so I ended up getting the last thing on my food list, which was tempura.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Yokohama
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The outside view of the hotel, really cool building
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
My sushi sampler
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
And good old Japanese McDonald’s
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
My last meal of prawn tempura
748EC910-58A2-4FF7-A1D3-B75FEBC3300D
Hong Kong Express were pretty unorganised and didn’t try to communicate with people, but the airport staff were great. The delay wouldn’t be as bad if I hadn’t already gotten there so early already!

Overall it was a nice trip! Way too short, of course and it just makes me want to go back again. Try more food, see more cool stuff and walk around my favourite place in Asia. Did I mention how good the food is?

Leave a Reply

