Another trip to Vietnam, this time to historic Hoi An. Staying in Hoi An Boutique Resort we stayed by the beach, which was easy travelling distance to the town for trips. The old river front is beautiful and unique, with influences from the different countries that had dominion over the port between the 15th and 18th centuries.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
In the centre of Hoi An
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Restaurant on the riverside where I tried Cuo Lau
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Hoi An
Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Hoi An
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
So much beauty everywhere

On the itinerary for me was trying some of the regional dishes. For my friend, getting clothes tailor-made. For both of us, relaxing by the pool and on the beach. It was incredibly hot so we had to find shade whenever possible, but the setting was gorgeous. The part of the beach we were on was lovely. The hotel was designed beautifully. The old town itself was interesting, much more bustling than I expected in the evening it really came alive.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
We were downstairs in this little house
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
The pool from the hotel main building
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
The pool again
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
The beach that the hotel had use of
Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
The spa over looking the pool
Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Pedicure ūüôā
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Seriously look at this beach!!!

Getting clothes tailor made was an experience. You really have to bargain, I can imagine people being really ripped off. I think I got an ok deal, but it seemed like a lot of Australians visit Hoi An and it seemed they are willing to spend a lot more than I am on clothes! I’d recommend the¬†tailor that I¬†bought the clothes from.¬†The adjoining shoemakers gave me nice shoes but they didn’t last very long at all, so I wouldn’t go back there. I got three dresses made and two pairs of trousers. One linen pair and one pair for work. The pair I got for work are amazing. So comfortable and look so great, definitely the best buy. The dresses are all great but I just don’t do enough going out to get to wear them as much as I’d like. I wasn’t planning on buying anything and ended up getting so much!

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Red dress
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
White polka dot dress
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Turquoise dress
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Two pairs of shoes

Foodwise! Oh my god, I was so excited to try Cao Lau as it can only be made right here. Due to the¬†noodles containing ash from firewood being mixed with water from one specific well. Serious shit. Also there was White Rose, that are shrimp dumplings shaped like the flower. Then there was Bahn Mi, I wish I had time to go to the famous stall that Anthony Bourdain raved about on his show, but I didn’t sadly. The hotel was so nice and fancy it was difficult to drag ourselves away from the pool. I ate a lot of fish that was fantastic. I don’t think you can really go wrong with Vietnamese food, you don’t need to do too much research there’s great, cheap food everywhere. The place we liked was called Hong Phuc 2, right on the waterfront the fish in banana leaf was delicious and the cocktails were really cute in little buckets.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
White Rose
Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
Bahn Mi
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Cao Lau
Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Interior of the Cuo Lau restaurant

So that was our trip to Hoi An. I definitely recommend a visit here and the hotel we stayed at.

One thought on “Hoi An

Leave a Reply

