Happy hungover Saturday! After being fed my best friend’s servings of vodka last night (what did you pour me, triples? Quadruples?) I decided to stick with those nostalgic feelings that come from lazy Saturday afternoons and write about a trip I took a while ago.

Back in 2013 I took the Best Trip Ever™ to Japan, then flew back home to England to visit my family. I knew the come down back to Hong Kong would be hard and I needed something to look forward to so I booked a last minute trip to Vietnam for 3 nights before work started up again.

The top of my list to visit in Asia at the time was Halong Bay. I flew over to Hanoi and spent the night in the Hanoi Elegance Ruby which had the best service I’ve ever experienced and was crazy cheap too. Vietnam is a very cheap country to travel in, you can stay in very luxurious surroundings on a budget. I ordered room service (I had never seen a room service menu so cheap before) and relaxed watching the streets below that night.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
The welcome at my hotel
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Upgraded to a suite and a laptop in room meant I snuck in some Netflix and chill
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
The room service, I already knew I loved Vietnam after eating this
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Things I could see from my room
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Street scene from my hotel window
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Beef pho for brekkie
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The beginning of the drive down to Hanoi
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Probably my favourite picture from the trip, the motorcycle thing is wild in Hanoi

The next day started with beef pho (one of the best breakfasts ever) and continued in a chauffeur driven car speeding down to Halong Bay ready for my cruise on the Jasmine. The Jasmine is fancy. It was filled with couples and then me. There wasn’t many people on the boat and it was spacious enough and beautifully decorated.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Arriving at the dock
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Vietnamese flag
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
The boat
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Ha Long Jasmine
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Beautiful
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Sunburn central
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Mural
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
My little balcony
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
I loved sitting at the front of the boat
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Jasmine Halong Bay

I had my own room which had a lovely little private balcony. There was a restaurant and bar, an open deck on top, places for sunbathing and sitting. The best thing about the boat was the food. There was a multi course dinner on the first night and then the next day a buffet breakfast (unlimited beef pho for me) and a BBQ that evening.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
Menu
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Crab meat soup
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Spring rolls
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Seafood
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Chicken
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
BBQ chef
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Seriously so delicious

Activities included kayaking, jumping into the sea from a smaller boat and hearing someone shout “WATCH OUT FOR THE JELLYFISH”, getting a beautiful view with some monkeys to boot after a short hike, visiting caves and a fishing village and motorbiking on Cat Ba. I’ve never been on a motorbike before, I’ve been banned since birth because my dad nearly died on the back of one, but this was an island with no cars so I figured I’d be allowed. And the other option was cycling, which I’m terrible at AND I hate. So that was thrilling. Even going the 10 mph I think the bikes were maintaining made me scream. The woman who was driving it found the whole thing hilarious, I’m glad she enjoyed my company.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Halong Bay Vietnam
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Fishing village
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Me
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Making our way as a group
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
These kids were even bigger water babies than mee
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
People selling you things from their boats
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
The scenery was gorgeous
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
More of the fishing village
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Watch out for jellyfish
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Cat Ba by motorbike
Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Cat Ba
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Map of Cat Ba
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Gorgeous
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Temple on one of the thousands of islands
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Hike up to a viewing point
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Monkeys!!!
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Halong Bay Vietnam
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The inside of the caves
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Skull in the rocks
Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
Caves
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Paradise
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Me again

Halong Bay is the most beautiful place I’ve ever been and I felt like royalty on the Jasmine cruise. I am just a simple girl from Croydon though, so I’m sure anybody who travels in true luxury might not have been as blown away by the experience as I was. The best last minute trip I’ve ever booked. After the cruise was over, I was chauffeured back to Hanoi. This time to stay in Sofitel. Much more expensive than my last hotel, with a great view of Hanoi. However, I would rather have stayed at the other hotel again, I think. Sofitel was nice, but the other hotel was so much cheaper and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. I had a couple of cocktails in the bar that evening and watched the bustle of all those motorcycles from high above. The motorcycle thing is mind blowing. I saw things that defied physics on the back of those things and even a family of 4 on one motorcycle (no sidecar, literally on the seat). It’s really fascinating to watch but incredibly scary to cross the road. You have to just walk and ignore the motorcycles, they are meant to find a way around you. Seriously, just stare straight ahead and walk into moving traffic. Road markings and traffic lights just aren’t observed over there either.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
When it rains it pours! Was beautiful seeing it
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Back in Hanoi
Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
The streets
Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
Spongebob?
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
View from my room at the Sofitel
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
And at night
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Cocktail in the bar
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
View of Hanoi at night

That was my first trip to Vietnam, it was pretty amazing. I’d highly recommend the country to tourists and would say it’s a much better place to go than Thailand, but only in my very limited experience.

 

Leave a Reply

