This is going to be a photo heavy post! My last stop in the North East was Newark, ready for my flight to Orlando. After I dropped my rental car back to the airport, I had some time to kill and New York City only 30 minutes away by train. That afternoon and evening in the most famous city in the world was completely on the fly and I managed to get a lot done.

That's a lot of miles!
That’s a lot of miles!

I’d been to NYC once before but hadn’t done two hugely touristy things: a slice of pizza and going to the top of the Empire State building.

IMG_4664
The pizza was fantastic, I found it right by Madison Square Gardens.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Reminds me of one of my favourite shows The Mindy Project, that has an amazing scene here.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
No queues for the elevators and not very busy up at the top. At NYE the queue was already a few hours long at 9am.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Chrysler building is my favourite.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Inside the Empire State building.
Inside the Empire State building.

I had no plan and just ended up walking between a lot of the tourist sites, including Grand Central station.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This was my second time visiting and it truly lives up to it’s title.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Also made a stop at 30 Rockefeller Center to take a selfie with a sad face after they had cancelled Community.

I hope they felt my disappointed face.
I hope they felt my disappointed face.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And of course, Times Square, where I did some shopping in Forever 21.

I finished my evening with some sushi and watched as the actors left by the stage door from the Kinky Boots musical. I wasn’t sure I would have enough energy for even a half day, but it really was fantastic. New York is a city I would love to spend an extended amount of time in and unfortunately I’ve only had a 5 day NYE visit and this one. Maybe one day.

Leave a Reply

