Six Flags New England is a theme park I had driven past before in the wintertime of my last visit to the Boston area and is the reason I was driving so far north on this trip. From beginning to end this was the kind of Six Flags experience you read about on the internet and hope isn’t true. Bad operations, customer service and so many things hadn’t been maintained well in the park.

Bizarro at Six Flags New England.
Bizarro at Six Flags New England.

My first gripe was getting on the roller coaster Bizarro and having faulty machines distributing lockers. One of which wasn’t working at all and the other most people were having to swipe their card 10 times before it would work or try a bunch of different bills. All in a very, very small area which was very badly laid out. Employees watching and not even trying to help anybody or ask for assistance.

Bizarro agaiin, my pick for most over-rated coaster that I have ever been on.
Bizarro agaiin, my pick for most over-rated coaster that I have ever been on.

I wasn’t going to let that spoil me for going on a roller coaster that is frequently voted one of the best in the world. A Six Flags coaster with actual themeing, I was really looking forward to this one. Unfortunately, I found it distinctly average and the restraints incredibly painful. I’m not sure what it is about these restraints compared to other Intamins, but damn were they painful. This definitely takes the award for most underwhelming coaster of the trip. Talking to others it sounds like it used to be much better but I think compared to some newer Intamin Hypers, it has become bland.

Cyclone, which is being turned into Wicked Cyclone by RMC this year.
Cyclone, which is being turned into Wicked Cyclone by RMC this year.

The rest of the line up here was good, but not great. A few good coasters, strangely I had the most fun on Goliath and Cyclone is an okay wooden coaster. There’s not much here to draw from though, this was definitely the worst Six Flags I had been to and possibly not really worth the drive up to Massachusetts for. For such a big park the coasters aren’t really that great or unique and the atmosphere isn’t really up to scratch.

Goliath, my favourite in the park. But consistent long lines and break downs.
Goliath, my favourite in the park. But consistent long lines and break downs.
Leave a Reply

