This was my longest drive of the trip, from Philadelphia up to Milford, CT. I love driving in the US on the big highways, compared to the UK it is a breeze. I suffer from major road rage at home in England due to crazy traffic and congestion, my experience was in the US people were much less filled with blinding rage while driving. Even with the traffic through New York City it wasn’t too bad. Gave me an opportunity to look at Manhattan again from afar. I meandered my way up to Connecticut after the NYC traffic and stopped along the way to see the ocean.

I had been to the Northeast before and driven around this area, but in the depths of winter so it was lovely to see it bright and sunny. As it was winter before when I came here (mainly to visit Boston) the theme parks were closed so this was a great opportunity for me to come back to a beautiful part of the country with roller coasters as my excuse. I had another thing I didn’t get to try last time I was in the area and that was New Haven style clam pizza. I had done my research and chose to eat at Zuppardi’s, which is in West New Haven and closer to my hotel than the more famous Sally’s Apizza and Frank Pepe’s. I didn’t want the pizza to get cold. This place was in a lovely little neighbourhood and the place was really busy. I’m not usually a fan of seafood on pizza but I had to give this regional dish a try and it was well worth it. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hit two theme parks in one day while I was staying in Milford, Quassy and Lake Compounce. Quassy is even smaller than I expected, it is tiny and set on a really lovely lake. I didn’t have much time here I just rode Wooden Warrior a couple of times (it’s a family woodie, so nothing to write home about but a great example of its type). I got there before the park opened so I had some time to take some photos of this cute park.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Got this while Wooden Warrior made its way around the tracks before it’s first riders.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The ride tickets, which I used on Wooden Warrior.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Some paddle boats you can take out on the lake.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Couldn’t bring myself to be a credit whore and ride this one alone.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ride ticket booth.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This map makes the park seem bigger than it is…

Then I made the drive to Lake Compounce, a bigger park with a very famous wooden roller coaster, Boulder Dash. I enjoyed the park and found it was quite busy especially with younger families. There are free fizzy drinks at this park too, which is awesome. I was a little disappointed with Boulder Dash, it was good but definitely not one of my favourite wooden coasters. I think I made a huge mistake not riding it in the dark though maybe I would have loved it a lot more. Zoomerang was just a regular boomerang but the colour scheme is one of my favourites on any coaster. Wildcat is one of the most painful wooden coasters I have ever experienced. I found the operations here pretty terrible, especially on the most popular ride: Boulder Dash.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Zoomerang looks amazing with purple track, aqua supports and two-toned trains.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
More coasters should glittery signs!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
My meal at the theme park was some cheese and bacon fries. Heart attack in a paper container.
Boulder Dash in the beautiful summer sun at Lake Compounce.
Boulder Dash in the beautiful summer sun at Lake Compounce.
Leave a Reply

