OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Possessed; where you are rocketed into the sky on a twisty spike of steel.
Talon is right at the front of the park and it's bright colour scheme is really gorgeous.
Talon is right at the front of the park and its bright colour scheme is really gorgeous.

Next up was the last day I had while staying in Bethlehem, PA. Dorney Park was the closest to my hotel, less than a 30 minute drive. Again I got there just before the rope dropped, the place was completely empty! It wasn’t until I left (around lunchtime) that people started to really arrive and most of them were headed to the water park.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Steel Force is the largest roller coaster in the park. It’s over 200ft tall and the track goes on for over a mile.
It really was a beautiful day at Dorney Park! I was glad to get on Steel Force early as the queue filled up quickly behind me.
It really was a beautiful day at Dorney Park! I was glad to get on Steel Force early as the queue filled up quickly behind me.

This definitely isn’t the most exciting theme park and everything is very generic. There’s not much of a draw here with such fantastic parks so close by with much better roller coasters, food, grounds… Basically this place isn’t small and charming, nor is it big and exciting. It’s incredibly middle-of-the-road. Unless you are in the area and really want some extra credits this place is not really worth the time, effort or money. Fortunately, it wasn’t a waste for me. Time wasn’t an issue as I only spent barely half a day here, it was already so close to where I was staying and I had a Cedar Fair Platinum Pass so my entry was included in that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hydra: The Revenge twisting through the layout. I love the name of this coaster.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Even more twists and turns through many shades of green.

Hydra: The Revenge was pretty ok, I’m not a fan of B&M Floorless coasters and this is one of the least impressive I have been on. Although it does have an inversion before the lift hill which makes it unique. Possessed was the best Intamin Inverted Impulse coaster that I rode, I loved the thrill of the launch and it was probably my favourite coaster there. Steel Force is fun but nothing to write home about. Talon was a pretty good B&M Invert, but again “meh”. I also want to state that I am comparing these coasters to some of the best roller coasters in the world and also there’s going to be a lot that I find unimpressive (however nice they are). As when you ride 123 new coasters in the space of 6 weeks, only really great ones truly stick out. So don’t think I’m being too down on Dorney Park, it’s a great place to spend an afternoon. I’m just not sure why people would choose this park to go to, I would rather drive a little further and go to some of the other amazing theme parks in the region.

Next up, I spend the 4th of July in Philadelphia!

Coaster count: 33

Leave a Reply

